Lab Leadership

Susan Hubbard

Associate Laboratory Director for Earth & Environmental Sciences
Phone: (510) 486-5266 | Fax: (510) 486-5686
Location: 74-308 | Mail Stop: 74R-316C
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s Associate Laboratory Director of the Earth & Environmental Sciences oversees Climate and Ecosystem Sciences and Energy Geosciences. Susan Hubbard earned her PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Berkeley. She has worked at the US Geological Survey and for industry, was the Director of the Earth Sciences Division at Berkeley Lab from 2013-2015, and is an Adjunct Professor at UC Berkeley. Her research focuses on the development and use of geophysical approaches to provide new insights about Earth system processes that influence contaminant remediation, carbon cycling, water resources, and subsurface energy systems. She has led or contributed to many initiatives, including Berkeley Lab’s current Water-Energy Resiliency and Microbes-to-Biomes Initiatives and the DOE Subsurface Crosscut. Susan is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the Geological Society of America. She has served on many advisory boards, including the DOE Biological and Environmental Research Advisory Committee (BERAC) and California Council of Scientific Technology (CCST). For more information, please visit

Mary E. Maxon

Associate Laboratory Director for Biosciences
Phone: (510) 486-6416
Location: 978-4124 | Mail Stop: 978R4121
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s Associate Laboratory Director for Biosciences oversees the Biological Systems & Engineering, Environmental Genomics & Systems Biology, and Molecular Biophysics & Integrated Bioimaging Divisions, as well as the DOE Joint Genome Institute. She has been integral to the strategic planning efforts and development of the Area for four years, most recently as the Biosciences Principal Deputy. She received a Ph.D. in molecular cell biology from the University of California, Berkeley. Prior to coming to the Lab, Maxon worked in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries, as well as the public sector; this service was highlighted by her tenure as the Assistant Director for Biological Research at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President, where she developed the National Bioeconomy Blueprint. With her extensive background in industry, scientific foundations, and state and federal government, Maxon is a national leader in science and technology policy. She has helped the Lab develop important initiatives, including Microbes to Biomes, the National Microbiome Initiative, BRAIN, the Agile BioFoundry, and the California Initiative to Advance Precision Medicine.

Jeffrey B. Neaton

Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences
Phone: (510) 486-4527 | Fax: (510) 486-6033
Location: 50B-4240 | Mail Stop: 50B-4230
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Sciences oversees the Chemical Sciences and Materials Sciences Divisions, as well as the lab’s two Basic Energy Sciences-sponsored national scientific User Facilities, the Advanced Light Source and the Molecular Foundry. Jeffrey B. Neaton is​ ​a Senior Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory​ and ​a Professor of Physics at UC Berkeley. He is the Associate Director of the Center for Computational Study of Excited-State Phenomena in Energy Materials at Berkeley Lab and a member of the Kavli Energy NanoSciences Institute at UC Berkeley. He received his Ph.D. in physics under Neil Ashcroft from Cornell University, and was a postdoctoral fellow at Rutgers University. After having worked as a postdoc and staff scientist at the Molecular Foundry, he became Director of the Molecular Foundry in 2013. Neaton is a recipient of a DOE Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers award, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Ravi Prasher

Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Technologies
Phone: (510) 486-7291 | Fax: (510) 486-4260
Location: 070-0109A | Mail Stop: 70R0108B
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Technologies has laboratory-wide responsibility for accelerating the translation of basic and applied research results into real world energy applications. Ravi Prasher holds a doctorate in mechanical engineering from Arizona State University and a B.S. in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in New Delhi. Prior to his ALD appointment in July 2018, he was director of the Energy Storage and Distributed Resources (ESDR) Division, where he led the Lab’s research on batteries, fuel cells, and grid modernization. He is also an adjunct professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at UC Berkeley. Prior to joining the Lab in 2015, Prasher was the vice president of product development of Sheetak Inc., a startup developing solid-state thermoelectric energy converters. Earlier, he was one of the first program directors at DOE’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E), where he created programs for cooling/heating of buildings and thermal storage. He also worked at Intel and was an adjunct professor in the school of engineering at Arizona State University from 2005 to 2013.

James Symons

Associate Laboratory Director for Physical Sciences
Phone: (510) 486-5670  |  Fax: (510) 486-6003
Location: 50-4053  |  Mail Stop: 50-4049
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s Associate Laboratory Director for Physical Sciences champions the highly-accomplished research divisions in accelerator and fusion research, engineering, nuclear science, and physics. James Symons received his D.Phil from Oxford University, where he studied nuclear structure, and began his career at Berkeley Lab in 1977 as a Postdoctoral Fellow. Since that time, he has held scientific research and management roles, and also currently serves as the Director of the Nuclear Science Division. His research interests are in experimental nuclear physics, including nuclear structure and relativistic heavy ion collisions. As Division Director, he oversees the 88-inch Cyclotron. He is a member of the STAR (Solenoid Tracker at RHIC) experiment at the Brookhaven National Laboratory’s Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), designed to study particle production at temperatures and densities similar to that found during the early universe. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, and has served on numerous national and international panels, including the Department of Energy/National Science Foundation Nuclear Advisory Committee (NSAC), which he chaired from 2000 – 2002.

Katherine A. Yelick

Associate Laboratory Director for Computing Sciences
Phone: 510-495-2431  |  Fax: 510-486-4300
Location: 59-3026  |  Mail Stop: 59R3022B
[email protected]

Berkeley Lab’s ALD for Computing Sciences oversees the Laboratory’s Computational Research Division, the National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) and the Energy Sciences Network (ESnet).  Katherine Yelick is a Senior Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California at Berkeley. She was the Director of NERSC from 2008 through 2012 and has served as ALD for Computing Sciences since September 2010. Yelick is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Association for Arts and Sciences. She is also a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and recipient of the ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy award and the ACM-W Athena award. She has also served as a member of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC), the National Academies Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB), and the California Council on Science and Technology.