Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory masthead A-Z Index Berkeley Lab masthead U.S. Department of Energy logo Phone Book Careers Search

The Laboratory has announced the following holiday schedule for 2014:

Berkeley Lab Holiday Calendar 2014

Wednesday, January 1, 2014

New Year's Holiday

Monday, January 20, 2014

Martin Luther King Holiday

Monday, February 17, 2014

Presidents Day

Friday, March 28, 2014

Cesar Chavez Day**

Monday, May 26, 2014

Memorial Day

Friday, July 4, 2014

Independence Day

Monday, September 1, 2014

Labor Day

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Veterans Day**

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Thanksgiving Day

Friday, November 28, 2014

Day after Thanksgiving Day

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Christmas Eve Holiday

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Christmas Holiday

Friday, December 26, 2014

Administrative Holiday **

Monday, December 29, 2014

Vacation day or Leave without pay*

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Vacation day or Leave without pay*

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

New Year's Eve Holiday

Thursday, January 1, 2015

New Year's Day

* Employees may use either vacation or leave without pay for these dates. Up to two days' advance use of vacation credit accruals for the months of December may be used to facilitate the implementation of Christmas/New Year's holiday closures. This applies only to employees who have not had sufficient time to accrue adequate vacation balances [see Vacation Leave policy]

**Eligible employees have the option to take one of these days as a holiday. Those employees taking Cesar Chavez or Veterans Day as a holiday in Calendar Year 2014 must use a third vacation day on Friday, December 26, 2014.  See the Implementation Guidance for information on eligibility and time entry procedures.

The Laboratory holiday policy is contained in the Requirements and Policy Manual (RPM), Holidays.