Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory masthead A-Z Index Berkeley Lab masthead U.S. Department of Energy logo Phone Book Careers Search
Operations masthead

Laboratory Support Advisory Council (previously known as the Operations Advisory Council)

Charter:
The Laboratory Support Advisory Council represents a partnership between the official representatives who speak with authority on behalf of their scientific divisions, the Chair of the Information Technology Council, the Associate Laboratory Director for Operations, the Chief Financial Officer and the Chief Information Officer. With a strategic focus on operational support issues, the Council is responsible for:

  • Defining the service requirements of the scientific divisions
  • Providing input on institutional priorities that impact support services
  • Providing feedback on services-what is and is not working (and suggesting possible solutions to problems)
  • Serving as a sounding board for issues related to Laboratory support that are raised by other Laboratory committees

Each member of the Council is responsible for:

  • Keeping his or her respective Division Director and Associate Laboratory Director apprised of Laboratory support issues on which they are expected to provide recommendations or make decisions
  • Timely and broad (as appropriate) communication throughout their respective organization on issues discussed at meetings
  • Contributing to committee/subgroup efforts designed to address issues of concern to the Council

Laboratory support management is responsible for providing information in a timely manner.

The Council is chaired by the Associate Laboratory Director for Operations.  Meetings are held monthly.

Image of Glenn Kubiak's signature


Organization - LSAC Representatives

Organization

ALD/Division/Dept Names

LSAC Representative

Email

Mail Stop

Telephone Number

Biosciences

Jay Keasling

Ellen Ford

EFord@lbl.gov

978R4121

486-4905

Physical Biosciences

Adam Arkin

Paul Adams

PDAdams@lbl.gov

64

486-4225

 

 

Daniel Fletcher

DAFletcher@lbl.gov

Stanley

643-5624

 

 

Kristin Balder-Froid

KHBalder-Froid@lbl.gov

50A4119

486-6060

Genomics

Eddy Rubin

Jim Bristow 

JBristow@lbl.gov

PGF

925-296-5609

 

 

Ray Turner

CRTurner@lbl.gov

PGF

925-296-5804

 

 

Len Pennacchio

LAPennacchio@lbl.gov

84R0171

486-7498

Life Sciences

Gary Karpen 

Damir Sudar

DSudar@lbl.gov

977

486-5346

Computing Sciences

Kathy Yelick

 

 

 

 

Computational Research

David Brown

Jonathan Carter

JTCarter@lbl.gov

943R0256

486-7514

NERSC

Kathy Yelick

Jonathan Carter

JTCarter@lbl.gov

943R0256

486-7514

ESnet

Gregory Bell  

Jonathan Carter (representative to LSAC only)

JTCarter@lbl.gov

943R0256

486-7514

Energy and Environmental Sciences

Don DePaolo

 

 

 

 

Chemical Sciences

Ali Belkacem

Angela Gill

AAGill@lbl.gov

70A-3307

495-2276

 

 

Kevin Wilson

KRWilson@lbl.gov

6R2100

495-2474

EETD

Ashok Gadgil

Robert Kostecki

R_Kostecki@lbl.gov

90R3029B

486-6002

 

 

Mary Sidney

MLSidney@lbl.gov

90R3029B

486-6649

Material Sciences

Miquel Salmeron

Nick Everson

 NJEverson@lbl.gov

66R0200

486-6268

Earth Sciences

Susan Hubbard

Susan Hubbard

SSHubbard@lbl.gov

90R1116

486-5266

 

 

Ernie Majer

ELMajer@lbl.gov

90R1116 

486-6709 

General Sciences

James Symons

 

 

 

 

AFRD

Steve Gourlay

Peter Seidl

PASeidl@lbl.gov

50R4049

486-7653

Engineering

Kem Robinson

John Freeman

JCFreeman@lbl.gov

46A1123

486-4255

 

 

Henrik Von Der Lippe

HVDLippe@lbl.gov

46A1123

495-2327

 

 

Ross Schlueter

RDSchlueter@lbl.gov

46A1123

486-7405

Nuclear Science

James Symons

Jorgen Randrup

JRandrup@lbl.gov

70R0319

486-6157

Physics

Natalie Roe

Tony Spadafora

ALSpadafora@lbl.gov

70A-2255F

495-2316

Photon Sciences

Roger Falcone

 

 

 

 

ALS

Roger Falcone

Michael Banda

MJBanda@lbl.gov

80R0114

495-2837

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other – Operations Leadership

 

 

 

 

 

Ofc. of COO

Glenn Kubiak

 

GDKubiak@lbl.gov

50A4112

486-6480

Deputy COO

Rebecca Rishell

 

RRishell@lbl.gov

50A4112

486-6689

EHSS

Joe Dionne (acting)

 

JEDionne@lbl.gov

75B0101

486-7586

Facilities

Jennifer Ridgeway

 

JSRidgeway@lbl.gov

76-225

486-6339

Human Resources

Vera Potapenko

 

VPotapenko@lbl.gov

90R2121

486-6681

Institutional Assurance

Howard  Hatayama

 

HKHatayama@lbl.gov

50A4112

486-5063

Information Technology

Rosio Alvarez

 

RAlvarez@lbl.gov

50B2232

486-6688

OCFO

Kim Williams

 

 KPWilliams@lbl.gov

971-CFO

486-7362

Public Affairs

Jeff Miller

 

JWMiller@lbl.gov

65

486-6601

 

Last updated: May 9, 2013